What’s Cooking: 1

Dinner last night was a bit of a smorgasbord; all I knew was that I had just made fresh olive oil bread, crimimi mushrooms, an avocado, onion and sweet potato… and I wanted to use then all.

****Sidenote:  I got the bread recipe from a book Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois and it’s a great great book!

My favorite thing to do whenever I have bread lying around that calls to be eaten is bruschetta: there are so many different varieties to choose from and that’s perfect for me (although the traditional tomato and basil combo is always included).   That was the only thing I knew I was making when I walked into the grocery store, I like to see what they have to offer, become inspired and go from there!

For the bruschettas I decided on:

  • tomato, basil, garlic (and fresh mozzarella for the bf)
  • tomato avocado, onion, garlic and lemon juice
  • a puree of white beans, lemon juice, artichoke hearts, garlic, kalamata olives and a dollop of goat cheese (all pulsed together in the food processor
I then grabbed some good looking acorn squashes that I decided to stuff with those mushrooms, onions and a blend of wild rice.  Of course, veggies were stocked up on for a fresh dinner side salad and I decided to do the usual with the sweet potato: make baked sweet potato fries! (you’ll also see one of my homemade sodas in there as well)
Voila! dinner 🙂
***for future What’s Cooking segments I’ll be sure to pay more attention to price and cook time to hopefully make some suggestions for cost effectiveness and convenience as well!
Leave a Reply

