Current Happiness 1/20/12

The Current Happiness post is back.  It’s been a few weeks since my last one and I’ve been slowly stocking up on some things to share:

New Websites

A website I recently came across has become a new addiction: hookedonhouses.net.  It has some of my favorite movie/tv houses documented on it i.e. the Brothers and Sisters, Home Alone, Father of the Bride, Hanging Up, Practical Magic etc.  It also has introduced me to some really awesome celebrity houses like Reese Witherspoon’s Northern California home.  But I put it on my current happiness because of this post: the real-life UP movie house!!.  LOOOVE It

Art Created by Unexpected Artists

The company I work for, STARS, does a program called Drawn Together where an awesome local artist (who’s been with STARS for a while now) comes around to the various “classrooms” and does art projects with all the participants.  And even if I were an objective viewer I would still say that the many many paintings we have are awesome.  So in my quest to try and find a way for STARS to make some money from these paintings I’ve come across a lot of places that already do this: sell art created by people with developmental disabilities or mental illnesses (the money of course goes to the artists). Here’s a few websites where you can check out and even buy some of this art!

  • NIADART.org
  • artsoflife.org
  • creativityexplored.org
  • fountaingallerynyc.com-susan robinson (who did the following paintings)

Rainbowbrite cereal commercial

uuummm I didn’t know this existed…but a twitter post the other day opened my eyes to this insanely brilliant marketing scheme (which I’m not sure how I missed out on…considering my LOOOVVEE of all things Rainbow Brite).  And here is a link to the oh so fabulous commercial it had!

Big Photo Projects

I am currently working on a project like these because I LOVE them so much…so expect  a post about that in the near future

Red Lipstick

My recent endeavor to wear red lipstick is kind of a full circle experience for me.  I remember being younger and while at the store admiring the red lipstick, voices my inability to wear it and look good, the lady working there said “wait until you’re older…then you’ll be able to wear red lipstick.”  Well I have recently realized that that moment is here…and I love it.  I’ve gone on a red lipstick spree and my favorites (all MAC) are Viva Glam I, Mac Red and Brave Red

Quotes

-Stop wearing your wishbone where your backbone ought to be.
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

-Everybody is a genius.  But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid-  Albert Einstein

-Do not regret growing older; it is a privilege denied to many.

A few fun articles from CNN:

http://www.cnn.com/2012/01/13/health/secrets-worlds-healthiest-women/index.html?hpt=hp_bn10  shares the secrets of the worlds healthiest women

http://www.cnn.com/2011/12/07/travel/five-paris-lessons/index.html  the 5 life lessons a woman learned after living in Paris (I probably need to pay better attention to number 3 :-/) oops

Leave a Reply

