Food for Thought on a Monotonous Monday

This weekend was a whirlwind of organizing, cleaning, rearranging and getting reaquainted (gotta love Friday night Plattner family dinner out, impromptu Saturday morning brunch, followed by a Saturday afternoon of bottomless mimosas and bloody marys, followed by Sunday brunch).  One thing I realized during my household inventory was that I hadn’t updated my quote book (hardcopy and therefore also my page on this website)…what better timing to do it than the same day I finished a book that will now go on my list of all-time favorite books The World to Come by Dara Horn.  So here’s a few of my favorite quotes from the book as well as some other recent ones I have yet to add to hopefully spark a few thoughts and inspiration on this Monday Morning:

The World to Come:

  • Time is created through deeds of true kindness. Days and hours and years are not time, but merely vessels for it, and too often they are empty.  The world stands still, timeless and empty, until an act of generosity changes it in an instant and sends it soaring through arcs of rich seasons, moment after spinning moment of racing beauty.
  • It is a great injustice that those who die are often people we know, while those who are born are people we don’t know at all.  We name children after the dead in the dim hope that they will resemble them, pretending to blunt the loss of the person we knew while struggling to make the person we don’t know into less of a stranger.  It’s compelling, this idea that the new person is so tightly bound to the old, but most of us are afraid to believe it.  But what if we are right?  Not that the new person is the reincarnation of the old, but rather, more subtly, that they know each other, that the already-weres and the not-yets of our world, the mortals and the natals, are bound together somewhere just past where we can see, in a know of eternal life?
  • “Everybody around here likes to pave their roads with good intentions,” the already-was Daniel muttered, “but those roads never seemed to get me anywhere.  So I built this one out of stupid mistakes instead.”
  • “Mistakes are very durable building material,” the mortal Daniel was staying.  “Most people just throw them away as soon as possible and never realize that you can learn from them.  But if you do, they can actually hold you up pretty well.”

Other recent quotes:

  • We spend the first year of a child’s life teaching it to walk and talk and the rest of its life to shut up and sit down.  There’s something wrong there-Neil Degrasse Tyson
  • When I was 5 years old my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life.  When I went to school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I wrote down “happy.”  They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life-John Lennon
  • “There is no use trying,” said Alice; “one can’t believe impossible things.”  “I dare say you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen.  “When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day.  Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”-Lewis Carroll

And one last thought to leave you with (brought to my attention courtesy of Jenny Aust): a really interesting monologue from the opening scene of new TV show Newsroom (it’s a little long but stick with it…it’s really good-and not a partisan political statement, I promise!  If you’re really antsy listen to the question and then jump to 1:15):

 

Leave a Reply

