Dairy-Free Chocolate Pudding

As they say, “when one door closes, another one opens” and as I’ve discovered when one vice runs its course…another tends to wack-a-mole its way to the surface.  As is the case with myself and frozen yogurt.  This lacto-sucrose delight had been an almost daily staple in my life for longer than I’d care to admit but I seemed to have kicked the habit via gradual decrease of consumption (definitely no cold turkey on this one)! However (there always seems to be a “however”), I’ve discorvered a new recipe that is my self-proclaimed-after-dinner-rx for the sweet tooth that seems to take over after 5 PM: Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding! 

Ideally I should probably not have sweets after breakfast but I think that might be stretching it…but considering the alternative and the fact that I put only a couple of tablespoons of this on my bowl of strawberries and puffed wheat, I’d say I’m moving in the right direction.

Dairy Free Dark Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients

  • 1/2  cup dark cocoa powder
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons corn starch
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups almond milk
  • 4.5 oz dark chocolate chocolate (I used Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Lovers 85% but I think that might’ve been a little extreme)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 t cinnamon

Directions

Combine cocoa, corn starch and sugar in a large sauce pan

While whisking, slowly add .5 cup of milk and continue to whisk together until it forms a smooth paste

Add the remaining milk and cook over med high heat, stirring constantly and bring to a simmer

Remove from heat immediately and continue to stir for 2 more minutes to allow to cool slightly

Whisk in chocolate, vanill and cinnamon and combine until chocolate is melted and mixed well

 Pour into a tubberware that is placed in an icebath an apply plastic wrap directly to entire surface of pudding to precent a film from forming.  Allow to cool in the fridge for at least 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

